Great Allegheny Passage – Confluence to Ohiopyle, PA


Our wedding anniversary was this past Sunday, on September 26th. We decided to take an anniversary trip to Confluence PA, where we spent 3 nights at an Airbnb. We brought our bicycles with us.

Around 10:00 am on Monday, September 27th, we left on a bicycle ride.  Entry to the Great Allegheny Passage was a couple blocks from our Airbnb.  We rode from Confluence to Ohiopyle.

This is a video that Bob took with our GoPro7 camera during our bicycle ride.

I took several still images, while bicycling the trail.

Great Allegheny Passage
I am looking across the bike/pedestrian bridge
that we had just crossed over from Confluence.
The Great Allegheny Passage runs 150 miles between
Cumberland, MD and Pittsburgh, PA.
We rode the 10 miles between Confluence and Ohiopyle.
We rode along the meandering Youghiogheny River
through a mostly forested trail.
The trail surface itself was mainly crushed stone.
Youghiogheny River
Opposite the river on one part of the trail was a wall of rocks.
What a nice resting spot along the trail!
Ohiopyle, PA
We had a picnic lunch here.
At this portion of the trail we were on our way from Ohiopyle to Connellsville.
We did cross over the bridge, but rode no further.

I am very pleased with myself that I was able to complete the Great American Passage from Confluence to Ohiopyle.  I have ridden very little this year. I may have been able to make the return trip, but I didn’t want to push it.  My knee hurt, and the pain would undoubtedly worsen.  Bob rode back to Confluence to get the car. 

After Bob left I rode my bicycle downhill, just a short way back from where we had our picnic, to Ohiopyle State Park. I walked a short way along the Youghiogheny River, admiring the rapids and waterfalls. 

This is the bridge that we rode across
before Bob rode back to Confluence to get our car.
Youghiogheny River
Ohiopyle Falls on the Youghiogheny River
Overlook of Ohiopyle Falls on the Youghiogheny River

I found a shady bench near the Visitor Center.  I could hear the roar of Ohiopyle Falls behind me.  It was a pleasant place to await Bob’s return.

Bob returned to Ohiopyle shortly before 3:00 pm. He said it took him 45 minutes to make the return trip on the Great Allegheny Passage. His average speed was about 13 MPH. Bob took a shower at the Airbnb, before driving back to Ohiopyle.

Published by

Linda G.

My name is Linda. I am happily married to Bob, whom I married in September 1998. We have a daughter (my stepdaughter), who blessed Bob and me with twin granddaughters in May 2012. My interests include spending time with my family and friends, riding the motorcycle with my husband, bowling, bicycling, walking, attending festivals, photography and travel. I love taking photographs. I am a hobbyist photographer. My camera of choice is a mirrorless interchangeable lens Olympus camera. I love to travel as well. I lived in Germany for almost 3 years, while in the Army, and visited many European countries. I have toured Europe two additional times since returning stateside. I lived in Australia for 3 months. I vacationed in the Bahamas (Nassau) one time. I would like to see more of the U.S., as well as return to Europe. I wouldn’t mind seeing the world! FAVORITE MOVIES: I like all types of movies — comedy, romance, action, thriller and horror. FAVORITE MUSIC: My favorite type of music would have to be country, judging by the fact that my CD collection contains mostly country artists such as Alabama, Clint Black, Garth Brooks, George Strait and more. I like music by Green Day, 3 Doors Down, and Matchbox 20 too. FAVORITE BOOKS: I tend to read romance novels, although I enjoy a good horror every now and then. My favorite romance writers include Belva Plain, Nora Roberts, Nicholas Sparks, Danielle Steel, Robert James Waller, and Phyliss A. Whitney. My favorite horror writers are Stephen King and John Saul.

3 thoughts on “Great Allegheny Passage – Confluence to Ohiopyle, PA”

  1. Hello there, Linda. Haven’t commented on your Posts lately. Your Images of the Bike Trail are nice. The crushed stone is typical of the Trails that are around here. However, there are some real nice paved ones around my area also. A little more than a month ago, I had purchased a Giant Sedona 21-speed Comfort Bike. It works nice, except I have trouble learning the different gears to use & when to use them. I do alot of trial & error! I can’t ride real far like some people do quite yet. My ole’ legs get sore as hell! The Trails here are getting pretty with the changing leaves that are not into full color yet. That comes around the 2nd – 3rd week of October. You can bet I’ll be out there! Ride safe to you & Bob.

    1. Hi Les. I have seen some of your blog posts and know about your new bicycle. Some people have suggested that I,look into pedal assisted bikes (electric). I may do that, if we continue to bicycle trails.

Leave a comment